"I have succesfully represented over 3,500 individuals charged with serious crimes. Let me put my experience to work for you, so you can have a Great Defense!"
Proud Member DUI Defenders
Michigan has had some of the harshest Drunk Driving laws in the United States. This zero tolerance attitude is reflected in the recent and comprehensive amendments to the Drunk Driving laws that took effect on October 1, 1999.
Some of the most significant changes are the following...
- Treating ANY combination of three alcohol related offenses that occur with in 10 years as a Felony
- License Revocation for 2 drinking and driving convictions of ANY type
- New offense of endangering minor passengers while driver is driving drunk
- Reimbursement by the offender of the expenses incurred by the Government
- Drug and alcohol treatment is now required for second convictions
- Prohibitions on repeat offenders from registering their vehicles
- The Secretary of State's Office handles all licensing actions, removing them from the Courts
DRUNK DRIVING, THE CRIME
Michigan statutes prohibit the operation of a vehicle upon a highway or other place open to the public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including parking lots, if the driver is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs, or a combination of the two or has a blood alcohol content of .10 or higher. MCL 257.625. This is what is commonly referred to as OUIL or UBAL (Operating Under the Influence of Liquor or Unlawful Blood Alcohol Content). The 1st and 2nd convictions are Misdemeanors and the 3rd and any subsequent offenses that occur within 10 years are Felonies.