Home Attorney Credentials Testimonials Disclaimers Contact Us
Christine M. Grand
Attorney and Counseler
31731 Northwestern Highway
Suite 151
Farmington Hills, Michigan
48334

431 Gratiot Ave.
Detroit, MI 48226

Located across from
36th District Court,
Frank Murphy Hall of Justice and the Wayne County Jail

 


Ms. Grand has never been a prosecutor. Unlike other so called defense attorneys, Ms. Grand has never prosecuted anyone on behalf of the government.

Alcohol and Under 21: Minor In Possession

It is not just illegal to purchase alcohol or drive after having drunk alcohol if you are under 21, it is illegal to have alcohol in your possession at any time, even if the minor never drank any alcohol at all. It is illegal for an individual to transport a sealed container of alcohol in a vehicle, regardless of what seat or where on the floor the alcohol is located. If there are two minors in the car when alcohol is being transported both can be charged. If you are under 21 you can be charged with being a minor in possession if you are just holding an alcoholic beverage for someone else.

If an individual is convicted of being a Minor in Possession of Alcohol, the conviction has very severe consequences.

First Offense Penalties

• Misdemeanor conviction on your record
• $100 fine
• Substance abuse screening and assessment at your expense
• Probation with supervision and commensurate fees
• Community service
• Notification of your parents if you are under 18 years of age
• 30 day suspension of your driver’s license

Second Offense Penalties

• Another Misdemeanor conviction on your permanent record
• Jail up to 30 days if they violate probation or fail to pay fines
• $200 fine
• Substance abuse screening and assessment at your expense
• Probation with supervision and commensurate fees
• Community service
• Notification of your parents if you are under 18
• 90 day suspension of your driver’s license

Third offense penalties

• Third Misdemeanor conviction on your permanent record
• Jail up to 60 days if violate probation or fail to pay fines
• $500 fine
• Substance abuse screening and assessment at your expense
• Probation with supervision and commensurate fees
• Community service
• Notification of your parents if you are under 18 years of age
• One year suspension of your driver’s license


TwoLipps Graphics and Web Design, Ann Arbor, Michigan